How to get here

How to get here

Most people enter the Philippines at Manila’s Ninoy Aquino International Airport (NAIA) (http://125.60.203.88/miaa/). Sadly, this airport was chosen as the world’s worst airport not so long ago. Please don’t be disappointed when you arrive here; the airport is simply a rather poor introduction to this wonderful country. The queues at NAIA are long, the buildings are in desperate need of a facelift but entering the country itself is a fairly straightforward procedure. You will need to show your passport and may be asked to show an onward or return ticket, and most nationalities are issued a 21-day visa landing stamp on the spot. For more visa information, please see our separate posts.

Cebu City’s Mactan-Cebu International Airport (www.mactan-cebuairport.com.ph) is the country’s second-busiest airport. It has several international connections, for example to Hong Kong, Kuala Lumpur, Singapore, Tokyo and Seoul. If you are travelling from or to one of these destinations and want to avoid the chaos of Manila, you may wish to consider using Mactan instead of NAIA.

Other airports with regular international connections are Francisco Bangoy International Airport (DVO) in Davao and Diosdado Macapagal International Airport (DMIA, formerly known as Clark) in Angeles City.

 

Airlines flying to and from the Philippines

Air France www.airfrance.com

Air Niugini www.airniugini.com.pg

Air Philippines www.airphils.com

Asiana Airlines http://eu.flyasiana.com/Global/EU/en/index

Cathay Pacific www.cathaypacific.com

Cebu Pacific Air www.cebupacificair.com

China Airlines www.china-airlines.com/en

China Southern Airlines www.cs-air.com/en

Continental Airlines www.continental.com

Emirates www.emirates.com

EVA Air www.evaair.com/html/b2c/english;

Gulf Air www.gulfairco.com

Japan Airlines www.jal.co.jp/en;

KLM www.klm.com

Korean Air www.koreanair.com;

Kuwait Airways www.kuwait-airways.com/en

Lufthansa Airlines www.lufthansa.com

Malaysia Airlines www.malaysiaairlines.com

Northwest Airlines www.nwa.com

Philippine Airlines www.philippineairlines.com

Qantas www.qantas.com

Qatar Airways www.qatarairways.com

Royal Brunei www.bruneiair.com

Saudi Arabian Airlines www.saudiairlines.com

Thai Airways International www.thaiair.com

 

 

Websites to compare ticket prices:

Cheap Tickets (www.cheaptickets.com)

Expedia (www.expedia.com)

Lowestfare.com (www.lowestfare.com)

Orbitz (www.orbitz.com)

Skyscanner (http://www.skyscanner.net/)

STA (www.sta.com)

Travelocity (www.travelocity.com)

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s